April 12, 2013

  • Can of worms - equality

    So I really want to discuss this... please please please read the article - pretty please?

    A short excerpt from the blog to get you interested:

    For patriarchalists, the power struggle between men and women will only end when men win. 

    For egalitarians, the power struggle between men and women can only end when, like Christ, we both choose to lose. 

    http://rachelheldevans.com/blog/patriarchy


    I'm thinking of doing a vlog after taking a few notes on this subject - I'm intrigued and it lines up quite interestingly with a lot of what I'm learning about 'church' these days.

     

     

Comments (3)

  • "nor is there male and female, 
    for you are all one in Christ Jesus."

    Yup!

    We are each granted different talents, and in a relationship, it makes sense to share those talents and use them for mutual advantage.

  • Rachel Held Evans is awesome. I agree with the entire article. I have never understood why people still want to follow the "traditional" family structure, when it was basically based on women as property. I know I'm not property, so why on earth would I want to give up my ideas and opinions and rights? Husbands and wives are perfectly capable of being equal in marriage and working out differences like adults. I mean, would two men who were friends have to constantly default-declare one the winner? Why would it be different for a man and woman who had differing thoughts on something?

  • @Ooglick - I agree wholeheartedly. I'm now off on a study of patriarchy. I'm amazed that I thought it was the right way for so long... but I suppose that being a girl/woman/female... I was not allowed to question that or I would be considered a Jezebel, rebellious or out of order. I'm treading lightly on the subject for now.

    You have some great points!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *