April 17, 2013

  • Xanga, I need you! Marathon Motivation

    Xangans, you have been a great support and friend to me when I needed you. You have given me courage, accepted me as I am and shared your wisdom, concerns and hopes with me. I appreciate each and everyone of you in this community; from the stalkers to the sincerely empathetic ooglers, from the outrageous agenda hungry to the reserved soft spoken, from the self-righteous bigots to the level-headed open-minded thinkers... I learn from you all! There is not a one of you I can't gain some insight and understanding from, even if it's just patience to be had.

    Today, I need a little more help than usual.

     

    My dad was diagnosed with Diabetes 20 years ago at the young age of 28. He recently faced the worst of his fears when his eyesight began to be effected by the disease. He went many years with no medication and no insulin but is now insulin dependent. His eyesight has been preserved with the help if laser treatments to control the bleeding and painful shots, but is severely damaged. Today, he still fights. And today, I signed up to run in the Chicago Marathon on October 13th of this year (my 1st ever). I joined a team - The Diabetes Action Team to help find a cure, healing and education for this growing disease in America.

    This is where you come in Xangans -

    Will you support me as I reach my fundraising goal of $750 (minimum, but I hope to double it)?!

    I am a runner. I'm facing my fears on the pavement as my Dad has faced his and will for the rest of his life... 

    Be a part of my journey, as you have so much already!

    Check out my donations page: Diabetes Action - 26 miles for 26 million!

    Like my Facebook page for inspiration and support! 

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *