July 28, 2013

  • playing my music anyway

    I do feel like the musicians that kept playing while the Titanic sank… well sorta, but I did already find a different blog space if Xanga doesn’t make it. But I want it to make it. I guess the difference is that Xanga is not my life, the people in it just enhanced my life. And I can play my music until the ship sinks because it’s not the end of me, or you… or blogging. I’m still very very sad about it.

    I’m sad to hear everyone talk about how horrible the xanga team is. I’m sad to see those who have invested so much financially in hopes of directing the ship to the next best thing… and seeing them keep on giving to try and make it work. The whole thing is a downer. 

    I for one appreciated all that xanga was, and if it continues… I hope to find new things to appreciate. Until then though, I will keep on playing my music… why not?

Comments (13)

  • I agree. I love and appreciate Xanga.

  • ditto.It’s been a great experience while it lasted. So many years of good experience.

  • And the beat goes on…Do you remember that song by Sonny and Cher?Well, it ain’t over till it’s over, the fat lady sings, there is no pulse left and they pry my keyboard from my cold dead hands!

  • While I can honestly try to appreciate your pov here, I felt like it came across a little unkind and judgmental of those who feel the loss more than you. I don’t think your intention was unkindness. But it read that way particularly when you stated that Xanga was not your life and that you basically felt sad for the people who it means a lot to. I hope you were trying to convey sympathy. I kind of read more that you feel sorry for those who hold on. The truth is, there are some of us who have actually chosen Xanga above all others on purpose. And for good (various) reasons. And there are some of us who don’t feel safe on other platforms. When this goes down, I will have lost my safe outlet. To lose your voice is a loss indeed. And yes, it, is powerfully felt. 

  • Just keep your xanga open. Just in case…

  • @PrincessPowers - wow, that is not at all how I meant that.When I said that Xanga is not my life… or the end of blogging for me and ‘you’… that just meant that while the Titanic held life in its hands, Xanga doesn’t. It was in reference to the comparison I made to the Titanic and ‘playing’ the music anyway…I feel bad that people are working so hard to keep it, and it may not be saved. Not that I feel like people are holding onto something for no reason or wasting their time or anything like that.I believe in Xanga. And I believe in the people of Xanga. Some of my closest friends here and given tons of money and my point was just that I feel sad that its not ‘enough’. It breaks my heart.I feel the LOSS greatly. It’s painful and I rarely even speak of it. I’m choosing to let go of a 10 year old blog that has my entire teenage years written in it. Some of the most painful experiences in my life are recorded here. But sometimes things change, so I’m trying to see the bright side… I’m trying not to let it ruin blogging for me and look forward to new opportunities. if that is insensitive – I’m sorry. 

  • @PrincessPowers - I ALSO, choose xanga above all others. The only reason I ever got a wordpress was to have a ‘professional’ blog i could share with friends, family and the public. This has been, and will be the ONLY place I have ever been able to say it ALL. After openening my wordpress… I didn’t even blog there until recently, and I have only copied appropriate blogs from here to there and I’m still holding on to Xanga until the end, and if there is no end.. I will cheer and shout and move forward with the rest. 

  • @Donkey_Guy_10 - everytime I’ve thought about shutting down Donkey, I just can’t. I just can;t do it! I WON’T!

  • I understand how people feel about xanga, because when Multiply closed to blogging I felt unhappy.But not being here a year yet, will next month if it is here still.Have met nice people here, but it is the people that make the site, not the site the people.There are great people here. The staff is trying hard to make it work, but it all take money for things to work.IF it should go down at least they tried. Bro. Doc

  • woohoo, rock on girl, play that funky music!  Dance to your own beat . . I am sure there are more “music related” phrases but I just can’t think of them right now.

  • do you have a twitter that i can follow

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *